Scientific Prizes

Heinz-Zumkley-Prize 2022

The Heinz-Zumkley-Prize of the Society for Minerals and Trace Elements will be awarded again this year. The awardee lecture will take place at the annual conference held from the 6th to the 10th of June in Aachen, Germany.

The scientific prize aims to recognize exceptional achievements and publications in the field of mineral and trace element research. Its purpose is to broaden the scientific knowledge in this area and to support emerging young scientists at the beginning of their career. The prize is equipped with € 2,500.

2022 ISZB Award/Frederickson Prize

We are happy to announce that the 2022 ISZB-Award/Frederickson Prize will be awarded to Dr. Kathryn Taylor (Cardiff University, UK) for her pioneering studies of Slc39a/ZIP transporters in cell biology and cancer, together with her long-termed contributions on the administration of ISZB. She has played a number of important roles including being an elected board member of the ISZB and the 5th President of the Society. She has also been instrumental in the enlightenment of zinc biology for local areas through her involvement with Zinc-UK. Furthermore, her educational and outreaching efforts to engage young zinc scientists should be recognized.
Based on these reasons, Kathy was voted by the committee to be the 2022 recipient of the ISZB-Award/Frederickson Prize. We believe that Kathy is well deserving of this honor for her achievements, efforts, and contributions to zinc biological science.
Kathy will be awarded the prize during the conference dinner at the 2022 ICTEM meeting in Aachen Germany and will held a keynote lecture on June 9 with the title “The LIV-1 family of zinc transporters: Navigating a long and winding road”.
Congratulations to Dr. Taylor!

Poster Prizes

With the help of our sponsors we are providing prizes for the best poster presentations! The selection will take place during the poster sessions. Details will follow!